Skip to content

By Brooke Bernard

After a 5 year hiatus since the release of their self-titled EP, supergroup boygenius has returned. The group released 3 songs this past Wednesday, teasing the debut of their first full-length album titled The Record, which is set to be released on March 31st of this year. 

Boygenius is an all-star lineup of 3 of the most powerful voices in indie music today: Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, and Lucy Dacus. The group formed on a whim in 2018, expecting to make one single together. What manifested instead was a 6 song EP that earned the group and individual members a cult following. The boygenius EP is an instant favorite for anyone who loves to make themselves sad on purpose, featuring themes of reminiscing on lost love (“Me and my Dog”), unrequited affection (“Salt in the Wound”), and fear of being a burden (“Souvenir”).

Their newest single features 3 tracks, each one written and sung by a different member of the band. “$20” (Baker’s song off the single) explores a new side of boygenius, replacing the usual acoustic guitar with an electric, and showing off the group’s ability to create a hard-hitting rock ballad. “Emily I’m Sorry” (Bridgers’ song) brings us right back down like a sucker-punch to the gut, featuring heaven-sent harmonies and lyrics like “I can feel myself becoming someone only you could want”. The last song off the single, “True Blue” (Dacus’ track) is about tough, yet unconditional love, articulated in the most achingly relatable way that only Dacus could achieve. 

The release of their single, accompanied by a cover feature on Rolling Stone Magazine, has generated much anticipation for the full debut album and hopefully some future live performances to accompany it. 

The Record by boygenius is out March 31st, and 3 singles off the album are out and available now. 

Boygenius Regular Album Cover
Photo courtesy of Rolling Stone