Skip to content
2012 SCPride Marshals

KZSC is bursting with pride, for Closet Free Radio!  They’ve been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from The Diversity Center Santa Cruz County. Closet Free Radio is the longest running radio show about lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning issues in the country. You can count on CFR for a comprehensive stream of LGBTQ news, interviews, and entertaining commentary every Monday at 7 pm.

2012 Scpride Marshals
2012 Santa Cruz Pride Grand Marshals Kai Azada, Jane Schwickerath, and Richard Baldwin photo by Tané Tachyon

The Trailblazers Lifetime Achievement Awards spotlight leaders who have been exceptionally proactive for the local LGBTQ community. The award recalls the time that Santa Cruz gathered in San Lorenzo Park for the first Santa Cruz “Gay Pride” Parade in 1975. CFR was honored as Grand Marshalls of the Pride Parade in 2012. The first awards were given in 2014 for the 40th anniversary of Santa Cruz Pride and the 25th anniversary for the founding of The Diversity Center. This is the second time that The Diversity Center has picked a list of Trailblazers.  The award ceremony on March 13, 2016 will coincide with the “coming out” of the Museum of Art and History’s new LGBTQ Archives.

Congratulations and thank you for Closet Free Radio’s dedication to KZSC’s educational and community service mission!